I’ve been coming across some great recipes recently so I think I’ll add them to this blog.  I put so many shots of Laura eating that it makes sense to put some recipes up.

Tonight, I threw together one of Mark Bittman’s recipes called “Mock Ceviche”.  I’ve made this before and it is really fresh and delicious.  Great for summer. I’ve modified the recipe so it’s even easier than the already easy recipe because when something easy is even easier, life is just better.

Mock Ceviche adapted from Mark Bittman’s recipe from here

Recipe:

Ingredients

  • Salt and pepper
  • 1 lb bag of frozen seafood mix by Trader Joes (includes shrimp, squid, scallops)
  • 1/2 small chili Jalapeno, seeded, stemmed and minced (I used 1 and it was tooo spicy)
  • 1/2  red onion chopped
  • 1 small clove garlic, minced
  • 4 tablespoons minced red bell peppers
  • 1/2 cup of frozen corn
  • 1 Roma tomato diced
  • 1 avocado diced
  • 1/4 cup fresh lime juice
  • handful cilantro leaves, chopped

Bring a large pot of water to a boil, and salt it. Add bag of frozen seafood mix and cook for 4 minutes, until pink. Remove and run under cold water (not too long because I still like it a little on the warm side) .  Toss seafood with remaining ingredients then taste and adjust seasoning.

When Laura took a bite, she loved it and scooped a giant bowl of it for herself.  Greedy little girl.  After about 3 to 4 bites, she started crying because it was too spicy for her.  She drank 2 glasses of lemonade just to compensate for those few bites.

For dessert, I threw together this sinfully bad but incredibly delicious banana pudding.  We had a International potluck lunch at my downtown office on Wednesday and one of the girls had made this.  I actually don’t like banana cream pie or banana pudding.  I never ever order it nor even crave it and only took a small bite because I work with her and felt obligated to try it.  Well, hello!  It was so good that I got a giant plate of it later.  I closed my office door and with every bite, sighing and then cursing, then sighing and then cursing.  I felt so guilty from eating this that I decided to make it for my colleagues at my other office for Thursday (I know, I have to share the guilt like that).   I kept some leftover so I could make a small one for ourselves.  This makes a heaping amount in a 13 x 9 pan so it is great for a large summer bbq or party.

Warning, warning, warning: this is a Paula Deen recipe. I did not deviate from the recipe.

Not Yo’ Mama’s Banana Pudding

  • 2 bags Pepperidge Farm Chessmen cookies
  • 6 to 8 bananas, sliced
  • 2 cups milk
  • 1 (5-ounce) box instant French vanilla pudding
  • 1 (8-ounce) package cream cheese, softened
  • 1 (14-ounce) can sweetened condensed milk
  • 1 (12-ounce) container frozen whipped topping thawed, or equal amount sweetened whipped cream

Line the bottom of a 13 by 9 by 2-inch dish with 1 bag of cookies and layer bananas on top.

In a bowl, combine the milk and pudding mix and blend well using a handheld electric mixer. Using another bowl, combine the cream cheese and condensed milk together and mix until smooth. Fold the whipped topping into the cream cheese mixture. Add the cream cheese mixture to the pudding mixture and stir until well blended. Pour the mixture over the cookies and bananas and cover with the remaining cookies. Refrigerate until ready to serve. (I recommend making this the night before, covering it with saran wrap in the refrigerator so all the bananas meld with the pudding and the cookies soften).

You will totally hate yourself for eating this but holy cow, it is so good, I mean, so bad.  Ugh.  Next time, I think I will use crumbled Bordeaux cookies on top.  I love that coconut buttery cookie better than the Chessmen cookies.  Oh no, that’s just more badness.

