After school on Friday, Laura had a dentist appointment.  She had her teeth cleaned and checked and the dentist went through some precautions.  This was a different dentist who is closer to our home than the original one that she went to last year.  Essentially he told me that gummies are by far the worst candy to give kids and I should also stop giving her juice or all her teeth will rot and fall out of her mouth.  I do believe in stopping the juice.  I am very guilty of that.  We are switching exclusively to water for her school lunches from now on and Laura agreed.  I also bought a giant tub of gummy vitamins for her a couple of weeks ago. Oy!  That’s ok because I told her that she can’t chew candy anymore, she will have to swallow it.  I’m giving that one maybe 2 whole weeks of compliance.

After lunch today, she brought down these candies that she must have squirreled away in her room somewhere.  I told her she can eat them but she can’t chew. Hahaha!  She ate them like pills and after each one, she would say “yum”.  I am so evil.

I made this dish last night for dinner.  No one ate it at dinner time.  I ate a little bit before going off to play tennis.  Laura had a taste but didn’t like it.  She is not a fan of rice nor curry (I pray to God her tastes change!  I guess I should be happy she likes sushi).  Hubby ate it after the gym and said it was decent. While I was making the chicken, there was a lot of flubbing but it turned out to be pretty tasty.  The combination of this chicken and the coconut rice was really good.  It’s definitely a great savory dish for the winter.

Cilantro Coconut Rice  (I adaped this recipe from here)

  • 2 cups long grain rice (I will use basmati next time)
  • 1/2  onion finely chopped
  • 1 can (14 oz) coconut milk
  • 3/4 cup chicken broth
  • 1 tsp finely grated fresh ginger root
  • 1⁄2 tsp garlic powder
  • 2 tsp curry
  • handful of cilantro chopped
  • 2 scallions chopped

Saute the onions until tender, add the remaining ingredients and bring to a boil. Boil for 2 minutes, reduce heat to a simmer (cover) and simmer for 17 minutes, or until rice is tender. Fluff with a fork and add scallions and cilantro.

Curry Chicken with Sweet Potato

  • 1 lb chicken thighs cut into 1 inch pieces (I used breast and it was too dry)
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 2 Tbsp curry powder
  • 1 tsp Tumeric powder
  • 2 tsp cumin powder
  • 1 onion chopped
  • 1 can (14.5 oz) of diced tomatoes
  • 1 small sweet potato peeled and chopped into very small pieces
  • 1 Tbsp sugar
  • 1 container of greek yogurt (I used Yoplait)
  • Salt

Heat pan with olive oil.  Add curry, Tumeric and cumin powder and cook for about 1 minute stirring.  Add onion and saute until soft about 2 minutes.  Add chicken and cook until chicken is no longer pink, mixing occasionally.  Add tomatoes and sweet potato.  Sprinkle mixture with sugar and stir.  Simmer covered for about 15 minutes.  Add yogurt and stir.  Season with salt.   Cover and simmer for additional 10 minutes.  Garnish with cilantro.  Serve with coconut rice.

This afternoon, we hung out with Thomas and his dad.  It has been too long.  We went to Millenium park.  The kids played in the playground for a while and then we walked around the park.  It was windy but a gorgeous day.

