I didn’t do much today.  The weather has been so fantastic that Laura suggested we eat breakfast outside.  I only had cereal and Laura had some fruit but it was just so nice.  By 10am, the sun was beating down on us.

I made some gazpacho because I was craving it and the weather has been getting hotter.  I got this recipe from here.  I’ve made it for several years but also made my own modifications.  I know there are many other recipes out there but I can’t seem to get myself to try them.  This is pretty simple but becomes painful if you have a klutzy side.  It’s also more work to toast almonds and then grind them too but I like the added thickness that the ground almonds bring to the soup.  The most important thing about this recipe is the ingredients.  It’s imperative that you use ripe and delicious tomatoes, don’t burn the almonds (I’ve done this a few times) and use good red wine vinegar.

Toast almonds and once cool, grind in food processor

 

Use sweet fresh cooked corn. (I boil them for about 5 minutes)

I use an immersion blender because I don’t have a large food processor.  This is where pain sets in.  I always manage to splatter it all over myself and the kitchen at some point.

 

Gazpacho

Adapted from Beyond Salmon who adapted recipe from Didi Emmon’s recipe

1/3 cup whole almonds, skin on toasted
3 to 4 ripe tomatoes, chopped
1  red bell pepper, seeded and coarsely chopped
a generous handful of fresh cilantro
1 garlic clove, chopped
2 1/2 Tbsp red wine vinegar  (I sometimes double this, it depends on the vinegar)
2 Tbsp olive oil
2 ears fresh cooked corn
1/4 to 1/2 cup of water
Salt and pepper to taste
hot sauce to taste

  1. I use a toaster oven on the “toast” setting and toast till golden brown for about 6 to 8 minutes but watch carefully and stir it around mid toasting.  It will burn really quickly so beware.   Set aside to cool.
  2. In a food processor, grind the almonds. Add tomatoes, bell pepper, cilantro, garlic, vinegar, and olive oil and pulse until consistency is to your liking (or use an immersion blender taking care not to get it all over your kitchen.  You will need to add a little water if you use this technique but not too much.  Start with only 1/4 cup or less).  Transfer to a large bowl.
  3. Cook and cut the corn kernels off the cobs and add to soup.
  4. Add up to 1/2 cup cold water if the soup is too thick for your liking. (I tend to add too much in the beginning so don’t add too much)  Season the gazpacho with salt, pepper, and hot sauce. Cover tightly with plastic wrap and refrigerate until chilled, at least 2 hours.  Do not eat right away.  Let the flavors meld together and enjoy.

I added a little too much water to this batch.  I asked Laura if she wanted to try it and she said “NO! It looks gross”.  So, of course, I forced her to take a bite and she then proceeded to eat 2 bowlfuls.

