No good pictures of Laura today.  She was looking like a hot mess.

I had an itch to bake today.  I came across this recipe for Lemon Poppy Seed-Sour Cream Cake when I was perusing through Thomas’ mom’s book called Rose’s Heavenly Cakes by Rose Levy Beranbaum.   The picture looked so good that I copied the recipe and then found the exact one from this site.   I made it as written and even sifted the cake flour.  It is very lemony (which I like) and the perfect amount of poppy seeds but I thought the cake was too light and fluffy.  I was expecting a more heavier and moister cake, especially with the added sour cream but it was too light for me.  Oh well.  Laura loved it and had 2 pieces.

I also made this Blueberry Streusel Bars with Lemon-Cream Filling by Jen from Userealbutter.com.  This is delicious.   I made a different Blueberry bar last year which was good but let me tell you, the lemon cream filling makes all the difference.  The tartness really balances out the sweet blueberries.  It is delicious and buttery and so good.  I better get this out of my house before I eat the whole pan.

