Laura’s school had Student Appreciation Week.  They sent out a handout of all the fun things they can do on each day like wearing their school pajamas on Thursday.  Something like that.  Anyway, for Friday, it stated “Crazy Hat Day” and I assumed that they were making their hats at school.  1 hour (7pm) before I was going to go play tennis and Laura was supposed to go to bed, Laura say, “Oh mommy, I need to make a crazy hat for tomorrow.”

WHAT?!

I was racking my brain to think of an easy project that would be fun, kid friendly and let me repeat that again: EASY.  The first thing that popped into my brain was girly and I thought about making flowers.   Then the idea of making a flower pot for the hat and adding flowers on top came to me.  DING DING DING!

So we quickly got tissue paper and pipe cleaners and made tissue paper flowers.  I stapled construction paper for the hat portion and stapled, stapled, stapled.  It was a mad rush job and not anything that I am particularly proud of but it came out decent.  If I had had time, we would have made this out of paper mache.  I foresee more of these crazy projects in my future.

