This is the second recipe that I have tried by Madhur Jaffrey and holy cow, it is fantastic.   The first recipe is a vegetarian one with butternut squash and chickpeas that I have made for myself several times.  This chicken recipe sounded pretty easy.  It actually doesn’t have that many ingredients and it was actually a pretty quick meal to prepare but I was blown away by the flavor.  I got this recipe from Serious Eats.  I probably used a little more than 2 large bunches of cilantro and I pretty much just dumped the spices into the pan and didn’t measure anything.  I used more than 2 1/2 lbs of chicken so I was pretty generous with the spices and other ingredients.  Laura gave me a big thumbs up.  It doesn’t look that appetizing on the plate but it is seriously delicious.  I can’t wait to eat the leftovers.

Lemony Chicken With Cilantro Sauce by Madhur Jaffrey

◦ 6 tablespoon vegetable oil

◦ 2 1/2 pounds chicken pieces, preferably legs and thighs, skin removed

◦ 5 cloves garlic, peeled and chopped

◦ 2 to 3 large chunks of ginger, at least 1-inch square, peeled and coarsley chopped (I used grated)

◦ 7 ounces chopped cilantro (about 3 cups, from 3 to 4 bunches)

◦ 1 fresh green chile, deseeded and minced (I did not have this)

◦ 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper

◦ 2 teaspoons ground cumin

◦ 1 teaspoon ground coriander

◦ 1/2 teaspoon ground turmeric

◦ 1 teaspoon salt, or to taste

◦ 2 tablespoons lemon juice, more to taste
Heat the oil in a wide, heavy pot over medium-high heat. Brown the chicken pieces in a single layer, cooking in batches if necessary, on both sides. Remove with a slotted spoon to a bowl.

Put the garlic into the hot oil, and after a minute when it turns golden, add the ginger paste. Fry for an additional minute, then add the green chili, cayenne, cumin, coriander, turmeric, and salt. When the spices have cooked together for a few moments and the flavors begin to marry, add the cilantro.

As the cilantro begins to wilt, continue to stir, then add the chicken pieces, any accumulated juice in the bowl, and 2/3 cup water with the lemon juice. Cover, lower the heat to a simmer, and cook for 25-30 minutes, turning once, until the chicken is tender. Uncover and cook further to thicken the sauce, if necessary, and taste for salt and lemon juice. Serve with rice.

