Laura and I went to Topsfield Fair on Saturday with Darya’s family.  The forecast for the weekend was horrible but we decided to take the risk.  When we got there, it was drizzling so after we met with the tall cowboy with the big feet, we headed indoors and waited for the rain to stop.

We went into the first indoor place we could find and hung out with a nature guy who had lots of little animals and reptiles. Cute little chinchilla.

Cute little skunk with rough fur but not stinky.

We then went into the poultry barn. This bird was beautiful.  I didn’t know if it was a chicken or a turkey.

We ventured outside after that and the weather was better.  It was overcast the rest of the day but it stopped raining.  It actually ended up being a good thing because it definitely kept the crowds away and there were no lines at the rides or the food stands.

Darya’s mom wanted me to go on this ride but I chickened out.  After Laura got off the other ride, she told me that she wanted to try this one so I let her go.  This ride was unbelievably scary.  After a few turns on this thing, I looked at Laura face and there was sheer terror.  I was afraid that she was going to cry after coming off but she surprised me and came off like a champ.  She told me very quietly that she was not going to go on that again.

Real kettle corn.  Yummy!

Laura REALLY wanted to win a prize.  For this game, you give the guy $5 and then you get to shoot the darts until you hit a balloon and everyone “wins” a prize.   A $5 blowup dolphin.

We had a great time and I am grateful AGAIN that the rain did not ruin our day.  Now that this is the 2nd time we have gone, we now know all the hot eating spots for next year!

