Laura and I went down to Philly to have Thanksgiving with my dad and our family.  We arrived late on Tuesday night.  Wednesday was spent grocery shopping for Thanksgiving dinner and prepping.  We ended up buying a frozen turkey so it got brined in the bathtub overnight. 

On Thanksgiving day, Laura got dressed up for dinner and hung out with Hah duh buh gee before everyone arrived.

My sister, her husband and the Regginator arrived.  She kept a watchful eye on him.

My brother arrived later in the afternoon just before turkey dinner was served.  Dad opened up a bottle of wine.  Laura had the the biggest glass (of sparkling apple cider).

Reggie’s dad apparently likes mashed potatoes.  A. LOT.

Reggie ate dinner with us for all of 5 minutes.

Then he stuffed himself into the freezer.

Laura loves her baby cousin.

Everyone shipped out by Friday and I had my 25th high school reunion.  The next day was spent hanging out in our jammies, watching tv and playing Bingo.  Laura won the jackpot!

I am so thankful for my family.   I am thankful that my dad is still with me.  My mother’s absence was everywhere when I was cooking this year.  I always feel her most during this time because she would be doing most of the cooking and I know we would have been shuffling around in that tiny kitchen getting in each other’s way.  I miss her so much.

If you know me, you know what a complainer/whiner I am but under that exterior I feel that I am truly blessed with my life.  There have been struggles and definite losses but I’m at a point in my life where I am happy with the person that I am and finally at peace with the choices I have made in my life.  I wish I could live in the moment more often but life is just zipping past us.

I hope everyone had a good Thanksgiving.

 

